For what and to whom is this award given?

This award is made to non-members of RGSSA who have rendered valuable service in the promotion, or furtherance of all or any of the objects of the Society, namely to:

  • advance public awareness of, and interest in, geography;
  • encourage research and scholarship in geography and closely related disciplines;
  • recognise and reward achievements in geography; and
  • commemorate past achievements of significance to geography.

or who shall have rendered valuable service in the advancement of geographical knowledge or in research. Past members of the Society may be considered for Honorary Life Membership.

How are awardees acknowledged?

Awardees receive a certificate, are recognized at a special event of the Society, such as the Society’s Annual Dinner. They are also acknowledged in GeoNews, the member’s newsletter, as well as on the Society’s website and through other relevant media. Honorary Life Members are exempt from payment of an annual subscription, have the rights and privileges of Ordinary Members, and are entitled to use the postnominal MRGSSA (Hon Life).

How are awardees selected?

Nominations from individual RGSSA members are welcomed and Honorary Life Members may also be proposed by the Committee charged with managing the Society’s awards. Nominations must comprise a nominating letter of fewer than two pages and, if possible, the candidate’s CV (no more than 6 pages). The letter should clearly address the significant contribution of the nominee. Nominations must be accompanied by the signatures of two proposing financial members and seconded by a further two financial members. All nominations are evaluated by the Committee charged with managing the Society’s awards with their recommendation being put to the Council for consideration. Subject to Council recommendation Honorary Life Members must then be elected at a General Meeting of the Society.  Nominations for Honorary Life Membership are strictly confidential and must not be made known to any nominee. Nominations must be submitted to the Chair of the Awards Committee by 1 June each year. Calls for nominees should be made no later than 31 January.