Level 3 Mortlock Wing State Library of South Australia North Terrace Adelaide SA 5000

The John Lewis Gold Medal for Exploration / Geographical Research / Literary Work in Geography

For Exploration / Geographical Research / Literary Work in Geography

For what and to whom is this award given?

Gold Medals, to be known respectively as The John Lewis Gold Medal “for Exploration,” or “for Geographical Research” or “for Literary Work in Geography” as the case may be, are awarded by the Society for noteworthy geographical achievements in Exploration, Research or Literary Work. Particular regard is given to exploration, research, or work that has a South Australian context. This Medal is for any nominee who is an Australian citizen, or was born in Australia, or was resident in Australia when their noteworthy geographical achievements were accomplished. The John Lewis Gold Medal was established in memory of the late the Hon. John Lewis M.L.C. J.P. (1842 – 1923) who was a former President of the Society.

How are awardees acknowledged?

John Lewis Gold Medallists receive a medal, a certificate, and a citation. Medal recipients who are not already members of the Society are encouraged to join. Awardees are recognized at a special event of the, such as the Annual Awards Ceremony typically held in Government House – and hosted by the Governor – or the Society’s Annual Dinner. They are also acknowledged in GeoNews, the member’s newsletter, as well as on the Society’s website and through other relevant media.

How are awardees selected?

Nominations must comprise a nominating letter of fewer than two pages and, if possible, the candidate’s CV (no more than 6 pages). Self-nominations are acceptable. The letter should clearly address the significant contribution of the nominee. Nominations must be accompanied by the full contact details of three referees who can comment advisedly on the nominee’s achievements. On behalf of Council, the Committee charged with managing the Society’s awards shall call annually for written nominations for the award of the John Lewis Gold Medal. The call shall be made by public advertisement, circulated widely and shall include universities, other suitable tertiary institutions, kindred societies and associations in Australia. Nominations must be submitted to the Chair of the Committee charged with managing the Society’s awards by 1 June each year. Calls for nominees should be made no later than 31 July. All nominations are evaluated by the Society’s designated awards Committee with their recommendation being put to the Council for decision.

Award Recipients

2019Alaric Maude
2012Valmai Hankel
2001Hans Mincham
2000Professor Faye Gayle
1998Dr Les Heathcote
1993Professor Ian Thornton
1992Dr Joseph Gentilli
1984C. Warren Bonython
1981Ann Marshall
1980Dr Norman B Tindale